Plants

Discover the unsuspected benefits of sour orange (Citrus aurantium)

By Hervé , on July 27, 2021 , updated on April 21, 2023 - 5 minutes to read
Bigaradiera (Citrus aurantium)

What are the benefits of bitter orange?

When taken orally or inhaled, bitter orange essential oil appears to have a protective effect and increases the production of mucus by the gastric mucosa. It is also said to reduce anxiety.

How to eat a bitter orange?

For this reason, the flesh is not very juicy and contains many seeds. The ideal time to prepare bitter oranges is the high season, from December to February, when they can be used to make marmalades or wine as an aperitif. By macerating them with sugar, the bitter orange will release all its flavours while softening.

How to eat bitter oranges?

The acidity of the bitter orange does not make it a very pleasant fruit to eat raw. To make the most of its flavour, make marmalade, jam or syrup. You can also make orange wine as an aperitif. Finally, the peel of the bitter orange can be candied.

Where to buy bitter orange peel?

At Rue des Plantes we offer you: bitter orange peel 100 g in a kraft bag.

Also see:   Discover all the secrets of coriander: benefits, uses and cultivation

Where does the sour orange tree grow?

Native to India and China, it is a subtropical tree that likes a fairly warm climate. Today, the bitter orange tree is grown in large quantities in the south of France and in Italy (Sicily).

Where can I find Seville oranges?

In the Patio de los Naranjos of the Cathedral of Seville, a place that can be accessed through the Gate of Forgiveness, there is a part of the oldest orange city of a hundred years.

How do you say "orange" in Algerian?

In Arabic, the word for orange is برتقال, which is a word of non-Arabic origin.

What is the fruit of the sour orange tree?

Bitter orange (Citrus aurantium): breeding records. A little known citrus fruit, the bigaradier is easy to grow and can withstand several short frosts. Also called Seville orange or bitter orange, it produces bigarads, small edible but bitter fruits (hence its nickname).

Which tree produces an orange flower?

A little botany lesson: the sour orange tree The orange blossom is the white flower of the sour orange tree. This tree, also known as the wild orange, is a cousin of the sweet orange and the lemon, and has been growing for centuries in sunny regions.

When to pick bitter oranges?

Bigarads are the size of a tangerine, their bitter flesh does not give much juice. The tree is very abundant in fruit. Harvest them in December-January for immediate consumption, or leave them on the tree (up to 6 months) and harvest them as needed.

How do you recognize a sour orange tree?

Smaller than the sweet orange, the bigarade has a rough skin with a yellow or green tint. It is a fruit with an acidic, very bitter flesh, not very juicy and containing a large number of seeds. The bigarade can be recognized by its oval, shiny and persistent leaves.

Also see:   Planting shallots: tips and tricks for a successful harvest in 2021

When to plant a sour orange tree?

JANUARY FEBRUARY MARCH
JULY AUGUST SEPT.
OCT. NOV. DEC.

When to remove the bigaradier?

Propagation of the bigaradier The best method is cuttings, which can be done from April to September, or air layering between April and May.

What is the name of a bitter orange?

The bitter orange, also known as bigarade or Seville orange, belongs to the Rutaceae family, along with lemon, sweet orange, bergamot...

The sour orange, also known as Citrus aurantium or bitter orange, is a little-known fruit compared to its more popular cousins such as the mandarin or lemon. And yet, it is both nutritionally and therapeutically rich. Its peel contains flavonoids with antioxidant and anti-inflammatory properties, which help to regulate blood cholesterol levels. What's more, the pulp is rich in vitamin C, which boosts the immune system. Regular consumption of bitter oranges can therefore help prevent certain cardiovascular diseases and strengthen the body against seasonal infections.

(Visited 64 times, 1 visits today)

Comments

Leave a comment

Your comment will be revised by the site if needed.

Plantes

Bigaradiera (Citrus aurantium)

Par , le juillet 27, 2021 - 5 minutes de lecture
Bigaradiera (Citrus aurantium)

Quels sont les bienfaits de l’orange amère ?

Lorsqu’elle est prise par voie orale ou inhalée, l’huile essentielle d’orange amère semble avoir un effet protecteur et augmente la production de mucus par la muqueuse gastrique. On dit aussi qu’il réduit l’anxiété.

Comment consommer une orange amère ?

Pour cette raison, sa chair n’est pas très juteuse et contient de nombreuses graines. Le moment idéal pour préparer les oranges amères est la haute saison, de décembre à février, où elles peuvent être utilisées pour faire des marmelades ou du vin en apéritif. En les faisant macérer avec du sucre, l’orange amère va libérer tous ses arômes tout en se ramollissant.

Comment manger des oranges amères ?

Son acidité ne fait pas de l’orange amère un fruit très agréable à manger cru. Pour tirer le meilleur parti de sa saveur, faites de la marmelade, de la confiture ou du sirop. Vous pouvez également en faire du vin d’orange pour l’apéritif. Enfin, l’écorce de l’orange amère peut être confite.

Où acheter de l’écorce d’orange amère ?

Chez Rue des Plantes nous vous proposons : écorces d’orange amère 100 g dans un sachet kraft.

Sésame (Sesamum indicum)
A voir aussi :
Quelles vitamines trouve-t-on dans les graines de sésame ?Parmi les nutriments contenus…

Où pousse le bigaradier ?

Originaire d’Inde et de Chine, c’est un arbre subtropical qui aime un climat assez chaud. Aujourd’hui, l’oranger amer est cultivé en grande quantité dans le sud de la France et en Italie (Sicile).

Où peut-on trouver des oranges de Séville ?

Dans le Patio de los Naranjos de la cathédrale de Séville, un endroit auquel on accède par la Porte du Pardon, se trouvent une partie de la plus ancienne ville orange d’une centaine d’années.

Comment dit-on « orange » en algérien ?

En arabe, le mot pour orange est برتقال, qui est un mot d’origine non arabe.

Quel est le fruit du bigaradier ?

Bigaradier (Citrus aurantium) : signalements de reproduction. Agrumes peu connus, la bigaradière est facile à cultiver et peut résister à plusieurs gelées courtes. Également appelée orange de Séville ou orange amère, elle produit des bigarades, petits fruits comestibles mais amers (d’où son surnom).

Quel arbre produit une fleur orange ?

Petite leçon de botanique : le bigaradier La fleur d’oranger est la fleur blanche du bigaradier, dont est issue l’orange amère. Cet arbre, également connu sous le nom d’orange sauvage, est un cousin de l’orange douce et du citron, et pousse depuis des siècles dans les régions ensoleillées.

Quand cueillir les oranges amères ?

Les bigarades ont la taille d’une mandarine, leur chair amère ne donne pas beaucoup de jus. L’arbre est très abondant en fruits. Récoltez-les en décembre-janvier pour une consommation immédiate, ou laissez-les sur l’arbre (jusqu’à 6 mois) et récoltez-les au besoin.

Comment reconnaît-on un bigaradier ?

Plus petite que l’orange douce, la bigarade a une peau rugueuse avec une teinte jaune ou verte. C’est un fruit à la chair acide, très amère, peu juteuse et contenant un grand nombre de graines. La bigarade se reconnaît à ses feuilles ovales, brillantes et persistantes.

Quand planter un bigaradier ?

JANVIER FÉVRIER MARS
JUILLET AOÛT SEPT.
OCT. NOV. DEC.

Quand supprimer le bigaradier ?

Propagation du bigaradier La meilleure méthode est le bouturage, qui peut se faire d’avril à septembre, ou le marcottage aérien entre avril et mai.

Quel est le nom d’une orange amère ?

L’orange amère, également connue sous le nom de bigarade ou d’orange de Séville, appartient à la famille des Rutacées, avec le citron, l’orange douce, la bergamote…

(Visited 10 times, 1 visits today)

Commentaires

Laisser un commentaire

Votre commentaire sera révisé par les administrateurs si besoin.