Plants

Growing nasturtiums (Tropaeolum) in your garden: practical advice

By Hervé , on July 27, 2021 , updated on April 21, 2023 - 6 minutes to read
Nasturtium (Tropaeolum)

Do nasturtiums grow back every year?

Unless the so-called natural seedlings, from the seeds of previous years, make them appear spontaneously in the beds and flowerbeds the following year. Or, in the case of marigolds, if the winter is very mild, which gives them a few months of respite.

Why are my nasturtiums dying?

In our latitudes, the nasturtium is an annual and undemanding plant. This means that it grows from seed every year and produces everything that is needed to produce seeds (flowers). Moreover, as nasturtium is not frost resistant, it dies quickly when winter arrives.

When do nasturtiums appear?

It blooms from June until frost and is easy to grow. The nasturtium, which is edible, has flowers and leaves rich in vitamin C. Its fruit can be used instead of capers.

Do nasturtiums climb?

There are dwarf and compact nasturtiums, as wide as they are tall (30-40 cm), but also climbing nasturtiums whose stems crawl or climb up to 3 m high on supports. Nasturtiums have long, hairless and brittle stems which are very abundant in climbing plants.

Also see:   Growing, harvesting and enjoying the benefits of tarragon (Artemisia dracunculus)

How to avoid aphids on nasturtiums?

As these orange flowers naturally attract aphids, it is advisable to use preventive methods (black soap, manure) and the presence of their natural predators (ladybirds, lacewings, etc.) to get rid of these numerous pests.

Which nasturtiums to choose?

The most popular of these are Tom Thumb, which can produce red, yellow or orange flowers, and Peach Melba, which works well in a window box or flower bed. Empress of India, with its beautiful scarlet flowers, has the distinction of being a carpet plant.

Why do nasturtium leaves turn yellow?

Yellowing of the leaves can be the result of sunburn. Keep young nasturtiums out of the sun on hot days. Nasturtiums often turn yellow if the soil in which they grow is regularly waterlogged.

How to get nasturtium flowers?

Nasturtiums are as easy to grow in pots as in the ground. You can sow earlier in March and keep the pots under cover before transplanting in May, or sow outdoors around mid-April. In this case, sow the seeds in rows of 4 or 5 in the same hole.

How to harvest nasturtium seeds?

It is best to let them dry on the ground and harvest them just before they fall off by themselves when they are ripe. By this time, their colour has naturally changed from green to brown. Fresh seeds will gradually lose their excess moisture, hence the wilting observed.

What does the nasturtium flower look like?

Tricolor nasturtium, Tropaeolum tricolor, is a semi-hardy perennial. The leaves, which cover long spreading stems, are palmate and the small tubular flowers are bright red and purple with a yellow center.

Also see:   Scented verbena (Aloysia citrodora): properties, uses and advice

What type of exposure for nasturtiums?

Ideal soil and exposure for growing nasturtiums in the garden. Nasturtiums adapt to all types of soil, especially poor soil, as long as you give them a warm, sunny position. However, it is best to grow it in cool, well-maintained soil.

Where to plant nasturtiums in the vegetable garden?

Nasturtiums 'Florissimo' sown at the edge of the vegetable garden, next to rows of chicory and beans. The advantage: they are a lure for aphids because they attract them. You will get a border of about 25-30 cm. Tip: remove the aphid-covered leaves and destroy them.

Nasturtiums are easy-to-grow annuals that bring a touch of color to the garden. To take full advantage of their abundant flowering, it's important to take good care of them. Your nasturtiums may not grow back every year, as they are annual plants that die after flowering and producing seeds. If your nasturtiums die even before flowering, it may be due to a lack of water or unsuitable exposure. Aphids can also invade leaves and flower buds, but you can avoid this problem by spraying your plants with a mixture of water and black soap. To keep your plants in bloom all summer long, remember to cut back wilted stems regularly, and water regularly without wetting the foliage, to avoid fungal diseases. If you follow these simple tips, you'll be sure to have beautiful nasturtiums in your garden!

(Visited 14 times, 1 visits today)

Comments

Leave a comment

Your comment will be revised by the site if needed.

Plantes

Capucine (Tropaeolum)

Par , le juillet 27, 2021 - 5 minutes de lecture
Capucine (Tropaeolum)

Les capucines repoussent-elles chaque année ?

A moins que les semis dits naturels, issus des graines des années précédentes, ne les fassent apparaître spontanément dans les massifs et les parterres l’année suivante. Ou, dans le cas des soucis, si l’hiver est très doux, ce qui leur donne quelques mois de répit.

Pourquoi mes capucines meurent-elles ?

Sous nos latitudes, la capucine est une plante annuelle et peu exigeante. Cela signifie qu’il pousse à partir de graines chaque année et produit tout ce qui est nécessaire pour produire des graines (fleurs). De plus, comme la capucine ne résiste pas au gel, elle meurt rapidement lorsque l’hiver arrive.

Quand les capucines apparaissent-elles ?

Elle fleurit de juin jusqu’aux gelées et est facile à cultiver. La capucine, qui est comestible, a des fleurs et des feuilles riches en vitamine C. Son fruit peut être utilisé à la place des câpres.

Les capucines grimpent-elles ?

Il existe des capucines naines et compactes, aussi larges que hautes (30-40 cm), mais aussi des capucines grimpantes dont les tiges rampent ou grimpent jusqu’à 3 m de haut sur des supports. Les capucines ont des tiges longues, glabres et cassantes qui sont très abondantes chez les plantes grimpantes.

Comment éviter les pucerons sur les capucines ?

Ces fleurs orange attirant naturellement les pucerons, il convient d’utiliser des méthodes préventives (savon noir, fumier) et la présence de leurs prédateurs naturels (coccinelles, chrysopes, etc.) pour se débarrasser de ces nombreux ravageurs.

Quelles capucines choisir ?

Les plus populaires d’entre elles sont le Tom Thumb, qui peut produire des fleurs rouges, jaunes ou orange, et le Peach Melba, qui convient bien à une jardinière ou à un lit de fleurs. Empress of India, avec ses belles fleurs écarlates, a la particularité d’être une plante à tapis.

Pourquoi les feuilles de capucine deviennent-elles jaunes ?

Le jaunissement des feuilles peut résulter d’un coup de soleil. Gardez les jeunes capucines à l’abri du soleil pendant les jours les plus chauds. Les capucines jaunissent souvent si le sol dans lequel elles poussent est régulièrement gorgé d’eau.

Comment obtenir des fleurs de capucine ?

Les capucines sont aussi faciles à cultiver en pot qu’en pleine terre. Vous pouvez anticiper le semis en mars et garder les pots sous abri avant de les repiquer en mai, ou semer en plein air vers la mi-avril. Dans ce cas, semez les graines en rangées de 4 ou 5 dans le même trou.

Comment récolter les graines de capucine ?

Il est préférable de les laisser sécher sur le sol et de les récolter juste avant qu’elles ne tombent d’elles-mêmes lorsqu’elles sont mûres. À cette époque, leur couleur a naturellement changé du vert au brun. Les graines fraîches perdront progressivement leur excès d’humidité, d’où le flétrissement observé.

A quoi ressemble la fleur de capucine ?

La capucine tricolore, Tropaeolum tricolor, est une plante vivace semi-rustique. Les feuilles, qui recouvrent de longues tiges étalées, sont palmées et les petites fleurs tubulaires sont rouge vif et pourpre, avec un centre jaune.

Quel type d’exposition pour les capucines ?

Sol et exposition idéaux pour la culture des capucines dans le jardin. Les capucines s’adaptent à tous les types de sol, notamment les sols pauvres, à condition de leur donner une position chaude et ensoleillée. Cependant, il est préférable de le cultiver dans un sol frais et bien entretenu.

Où planter les capucines dans le potager ?

Capucines ‘Florissimo’ semées en bordure du potager, à côté de rangées de chicorées et de haricots. L’avantage : ils sont un leurre pour les pucerons car ils les attirent. Vous obtiendrez une bordure d’environ 25-30 cm. Conseil : enlevez les feuilles couvertes de pucerons et détruisez-les.

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Commentaires

Laisser un commentaire

Votre commentaire sera révisé par les administrateurs si besoin.