Plants

Watercress (Nasturtium officinale): cultivation, harvest and use

By Hervé , on July 27, 2021 , updated on April 21, 2023 - 5 minutes to read
Watercress (Nasturtium officinale)

How to make watercress?

Take a deep enough watercress container (50 cm) and cover the bottom with 15 cm of rich soil. Sow the cress without burying it, taking care to keep it moist. When the seedlings reach 5 cm, push the bottom of the tray so that the base of the stems is submerged.

Where does wild watercress grow?

Where to find watercress It grows in rich soils on plains and mountains. It also likes exposures that alternate between sun and shade.

What type of culture in aquaponics?

What vegetables can be grown in aquaponics? All types of vegetables can be grown in aquaponics, except for root vegetables such as potatoes, which rot in water. However, celery is well suited to this type of culture. Salads work well with aquaponics, as do tomatoes, zucchini and basil.

What is the Cressonnette?

Lepidium sativum, also known as watercress, grasshopper or Alenese cress, is an annual plant belonging to the Brassicaceae family. ... It is a cultivated plant whose leaves are used to season salads or to make mesclun. Watercress is sometimes also eaten as sprouted seeds.

Also see:   Thymus vulgaris, an aromatic plant with multiple virtues

Where can I find watercress?

Cress is grown in the open air, on the banks of rivers or in beds. In New Aquitaine, it is mainly produced in the Lot-et-Garonne, and more particularly in the Agenais, which is the largest cress field in Europe.

What is the season for watercress?

Its high season is in December. There are two main varieties in France: the Alenois cress, which is eaten as young shoots.

Where does watercress grow?

Cress is a plant that likes humid environments: it is thus particularly well adapted to the culture in a pond or on the banks of a watercourse. However, it can be grown in the garden, in the open air, provided that the soil is rich and moist.

When to harvest watercress?

Harvesting Cress Harvesting takes place about 6 weeks after transplanting or planting. The leaves and stems are simply cut off if necessary.

When does wild cress grow?

It appears in spring as soon as the water temperature rises above ten degrees, in April or May. From then on, you can also sow on the banks of the watercourses. After two months, the cress can be harvested by removing a few stems, but not by pulling up the plants.

What is the name of the watercress culture?

The Barberot family has been growing watercress for five generations.

How to grow watercress?

Cress should be sown from March to July in moist, water-saturated soil, burying the seeds less than 1 cm deep. When the seedlings have 4 or 5 leaves, transplant them. To skip the sowing step, you can find ready-to-plant seedlings in cups.

Also see:   Planting shallots: tips and tricks for a successful harvest in 2021

How to grow watercress in the garden?

Garden cress is sown in spring and summer in rows in the soil. The seeds should be covered with a 5 cm layer of fine soil, the soil should be kept cool and then, after emergence, thinned out leaving one plant every 10-15 cm. You can also sow in a container or window box.

How to grow watercress in water?

Watercress can also be grown from plants purchased in supermarkets or local markets. Simply soak the base of the stem in water for a few days to produce roots, then plant them in the ground, just as you would with seeds.

When and how to plant watercress?

Watercress is sown in the spring. Transplant the seedlings when they germinate and then in the ground when they have five leaves. It is easy to grow and will thrive in any garden soil.

Watercress is a plant much appreciated for its nutritional virtues. It can be eaten raw in salads, or used to make soups, sauces and juices. Watercress is also a key ingredient in English cuisine, where it is often combined with smoked salmon in the famous "watercress" sandwiches. Finally, certain varieties such as Cressonnette can be used to flavor vinaigrettes or marinades.

(Visited 58 times, 1 visits today)

Comments

Leave a comment

Your comment will be revised by the site if needed.

Plantes

Cresson de fontaine (Nasturtium officinale)

Par , le juillet 27, 2021 - 5 minutes de lecture
Cresson de fontaine (Nasturtium officinale)

Comment faire du cresson ?

Prenez un bac de cresson assez profond (50 cm) et tapissez le fond de 15 cm de terre riche. Semez le cresson sans l’enterrer, en prenant soin de le maintenir humide. Lorsque les semis atteignent 5 cm, enfoncez le fond du bac de manière à ce que la base des tiges soit submergée.

Où pousse le cresson sauvage ?

Où trouver le cresson Il pousse dans les sols riches des plaines et des montagnes. Il apprécie également les expositions qui alternent entre le soleil et l’ombre.

Quel type de culture en aquaponie ?

Quels légumes peut-on cultiver en aquaponie ? Tous les types de légumes peuvent être cultivés en aquaponie, à l’exception des légumes racines comme les pommes de terre, qui pourrissent dans l’eau. Cependant, le céleri est bien adapté à ce type de culture. Les salades fonctionnent bien avec l’aquaponie, tout comme les tomates, les courgettes et le basilic.

Qu’est-ce que la Cressonnette ?

Lepidium sativum, également connu sous le nom de cresson, sauterelle ou cresson alénois, est une plante annuelle appartenant à la famille des Brassicaceae. … C’est une plante cultivée dont les feuilles sont utilisées pour assaisonner les salades ou pour faire du mesclun. Le cresson est parfois aussi consommé sous forme de graines germées.

Wanilia (Vanille)
Lire aussi :
Comment cultiver de la vanille à la maison ?Le plant de vanille…

Où peut-on trouver du cresson de fontaine ?

Le cresson est cultivé en plein air, sur les berges des rivières ou dans des lits. En Nouvelle-Aquitaine, il est principalement produit dans le Lot-et-Garonne, et plus particulièrement dans l’Agenais, qui est le plus grand champ de cresson d’Europe.

Quelle est la saison du cresson de fontaine ?

Sa haute saison est en décembre. Il existe deux variétés principales en France : le cresson alenois, qui se consomme sous forme de jeunes pousses.

Où pousse le cresson ?

Le cresson est une plante qui aime les milieux humides : il est donc particulièrement bien adapté à la culture dans un étang ou sur les berges d’un cours d’eau. Cependant, elle peut être cultivée dans le jardin, en plein air, à condition que le sol soit riche et humide.

Quand récolter le cresson ?

Récolte du cresson La récolte a lieu environ 6 semaines après le repiquage ou la plantation. Les feuilles et les tiges sont simplement coupées si nécessaire.

Quand le cresson sauvage pousse-t-il ?

Elle apparaît au printemps dès que la température de l’eau dépasse dix degrés, en avril ou mai. Dès lors, vous pouvez également semer sur les berges des cours d’eau. Après deux mois, on peut récolter le cresson en enlevant quelques tiges, mais pas en arrachant les plantes.

Comment appelle-t-on la culture du cresson ?

La famille Barberot cultive le cresson depuis cinq générations.

Comment cultiver le cresson ?

Le cresson doit être semé de mars à juillet dans un sol humide et saturé d’eau, en enfouissant les graines à moins de 1 cm de profondeur. Lorsque les semis ont 4 ou 5 feuilles, repiquez-les. Pour sauter l’étape du semis, vous pouvez trouver des semis prêts à être plantés en godets.

Comment cultiver le cresson dans le jardin ?

Le cresson de jardin est semé au printemps et en été en rangs dans le sol. Les graines doivent être recouvertes d’une couche de 5 cm de terre fine, le sol doit être maintenu frais puis, après la levée, éclairci en laissant une plante tous les 10-15 cm. Vous pouvez également semer dans un récipient ou une jardinière.

Comment cultiver le cresson dans l’eau ?

Le cresson peut également être cultivé à partir de plants achetés en supermarché ou sur les marchés locaux. Il suffit de tremper la base de la tige dans l’eau pendant quelques jours pour produire des racines, puis de les planter dans le sol, comme vous le feriez avec des graines.

Quand et comment planter le cresson ?

Le cresson est semé au printemps. Repiquez les semis au stade de la germination, puis en pleine terre lorsqu’ils ont cinq feuilles. Facile à cultiver, il pousse dans n’importe quelle terre de jardin.

(Visited 7 times, 1 visits today)

Commentaires

Laisser un commentaire

Votre commentaire sera révisé par les administrateurs si besoin.