Plants

Growing Monarda (Monarda didyma): benefits and tips

By Hervé , on July 27, 2021 , updated on April 21, 2023 - 5 minutes to read
Monarda (Monarda didyma)

What are the advantages of monard?

Monard has properties that stimulate digestion and appetite. It is also used as an antipyretic. Finally, it is recommended for the treatment of chronic bronchitis. The essential oil is antibacterial, antifungal and antiviral.

How to harvest the monarda?

Harvesting and collecting monarda Harvest the leaves and flowers for consumption as soon as they are present and fresh, throughout the vegetation period, from May to October for the leaves, in summer for the flowers. To obtain fresh bouquets, harvest them in the morning before the sun is too high.

When to sow Monarda fistula?

Sow in the field in mid-April and transplant after the risk of frost. Direct sowing in June, July. Sow on the surface. 15 cm between plants.

Which flower did the hummingbird choose?

Contrary to popular belief, hummingbirds do not visit only red flowers, but any flower rich in nectar. However, it is often interested in red, orange and pink flowers first.

How to take care of Monardes?

Care for Monarda Water regularly during dry periods and mulch the base to keep it cool. Remove spent flowers to prolong flowering. Cut back to ground level in November when the stems are dry.

Also see:   Growing nasturtiums (Tropaeolum) in your garden: practical advice

How to dry a monard ?

It is possible to dry the plant to make herbal tea. In this case, the leaves must be harvested before flowering and dried either in the open air or in an oven at low temperature if the oven allows it.

How to plant the Solidago ?

In windy areas, place stakes around the clumps for support. Cut the stems in late fall. Solidago is an invasive plant: do not let it spread excessively by cutting the underground rhizomes with a spade.

When to plant Liatris spicata bulbs?

Plant Liatris in spring in well-drained, humus-rich soil. These plants like full sun, but in warmer regions partial shade can be tolerated. When planting, leave 20 cm of space in all directions for the plant to grow properly.

Where to plant the monarda?

Ideal soil and exposure for planting monarda in the garden. Monarda can be planted in sun or partial shade, in cool, moist, well-drained soil.

How to plant a monarde ?

It is primarily a sunny plant, but also thrives in partial shade, especially in warm regions. Prune after flowering. Plants should be spaced 40 cm apart. Monarda is easily propagated by dividing the clumps in early spring or autumn.

When to transplant Monardes?

Monarda can be planted in spring as well as in autumn.

Monarda is a perennial plant which offers several benefits often ignored. It has medicinal properties recognized to relieve various ailments such as headaches or menstrual pain. In addition to being a useful plant, it is also very decorative with its beautiful red or pink flowers that attract bees and butterflies. In this article, we explain how to grow this plant in a simple way so that you can fully enjoy the benefits it offers.

(Visited 44 times, 1 visits today)

Comments

Leave a comment

Your comment will be revised by the site if needed.

Plantes

Monarda (Monarda didyma)

Par , le juillet 27, 2021 - 4 minutes de lecture
Monarda (Monarda didyma)

Quels sont les avantages de la monarde ?

Le monard a des propriétés qui stimulent la digestion et l’appétit. Il est également utilisé comme antipyrétique. Enfin, il est recommandé pour le traitement de la bronchite chronique. L’huile essentielle est antibactérienne, antifongique et antivirale.

Comment récolter le monarda ?

Récolte et collecte de la monarde Récolter les feuilles et les fleurs pour la consommation dès qu’elles sont présentes et fraîches, tout au long de la période de végétation, de mai à octobre pour les feuilles, en été pour les fleurs. Pour obtenir des bouquets frais, récoltez-les le matin avant que le soleil ne soit trop haut.

Quand semer Monarda fistula ?

Semer en pleine terre à la mi-avril et repiquer après le risque de gelée. Semis direct en juin, juillet. Semer en surface. 15 cm entre les plantes.

Quelle fleur le colibri a-t-il choisie ?

Contrairement à la croyance populaire, le colibri ne visite pas seulement les fleurs rouges, mais toute fleur riche en nectar. Cependant, il s’intéresse souvent en premier lieu aux fleurs rouges, orange et roses.

Comment prendre soin de Monardes ?

Entretien du monarda Arrosez régulièrement pendant les périodes sèches et paillez la base pour la garder fraîche. Enlevez les fleurs épuisées pour prolonger la floraison. Coupez au niveau du sol en novembre lorsque les tiges sont sèches.

À voir aussi :   Cinnamomum verum (Cinnamomum verum)

Comment sécher une monarde ?

Il est possible de sécher la plante pour faire de la tisane. Dans ce cas, les feuilles doivent être récoltées avant la floraison et séchées soit en plein air, soit au four à basse température si le four le permet.

Comment planter le Solidago ?

Dans les zones venteuses, placez des piquets autour des touffes pour les soutenir. Coupez les tiges à la fin de l’automne. Le solidago est une plante envahissante : ne le laissez pas se propager excessivement en coupant les rhizomes souterrains avec une bêche.

Quand planter les bulbes de Liatris spicata ?

Plantez le Liatris au printemps dans un sol bien drainé et riche en humus. Ces plantes aiment le plein soleil, mais dans les régions plus chaudes, une ombre partielle peut être tolérée. Lors de la plantation, laissez 20 cm d’espace dans toutes les directions pour que la plante se développe correctement.

Où planter le monarda ?

Sol et exposition idéaux pour la plantation de monarda dans le jardin. La Monarda peut être plantée au soleil ou à l’ombre partielle, dans un sol frais, humide et bien drainé.

Comment planter une monarde ?

Il s’agit principalement d’une plante ensoleillée, mais elle prospère également à l’ombre partielle, surtout dans les régions chaudes. Tailler après la floraison. Les plantes doivent être espacées de 40 cm. La Monarda se propage facilement en divisant les touffes au début du printemps ou en automne.

Quand transplanter Monardes ?

La Monarda peut être plantée aussi bien au printemps qu’en automne.

(Visited 6 times, 1 visits today)

Commentaires

Laisser un commentaire

Votre commentaire sera révisé par les administrateurs si besoin.