Garden

Growing your own spices and herbs: tips and tricks

By Hervé , on September 7, 2021 , updated on April 20, 2023 - 5 minutes to read

Which exhibition for aromatic plants?

As an indication, the needs of aromatic plants are as follows: Very sunny exposure, warm, very well drained soil, even dry: oregano, savory, rosemary, sage, thyme. Exposure to sunlight without excess, rich and fresh soil: dill, basil, chives, coriander, tarragon, lemon balm.

Which aromatic plants should not be planted together?

Basil and parsley, like thyme, bay leaves and rosemary, are not cultivated. So don't put all your aromatic plants in the same planter, because they all (or almost all) require specific maintenance and soil.

Where to plant the basil shade or sun?

Basil prefers exposure to the sun, sheltered from wind and cold. It likes light, relatively dry, well-drained and fairly rich soil. Plant the basil perhaps in spring (April-May in the South), after the last frosts.

How to grow spices?

For a full soil, start your rhizomes in February March, and plant them in the garden in mid-May. If watered regularly, the plant will provide a good quantity of rhizomes in the fall. It is enough to keep some, that you keep well with the dryness to take again the cycle the following year.

Also see:   Motorize your manual gate: options and their cost

How to use spices and herbs?

How to use herbs and spices in cooking

  • Soups : Cream of asparagus soup: nutmeg, white pepper. Cream of mushroom soup: pepper, thyme, chervil, bay leaf...
  • Salads : Potato salad : chervil, tarragon, basil, garlic...
  • Vegetables: Eggplant: basil, oregano, sage, rosemary, garlic.

How to grow herbs indoors?

The warm, dry air in our homes in winter is relatively unsuitable for most herbs. So be sure to grow your herbs in a cool room - 18°C is ideal - and with a humidity level above 40 %, ideally closer to 50 %.

Where to plant herbs?

To feed your herbs in good condition, choose :

  • Sunny exposure and well-drained sandy soil for oregano, rosemary, sage or thyme.
  • Lightly sunny exposure and cool, rich soil for dill, basil, tarragon or chives.

Where to plant basil and chives?

Although basil, chives and tarragon are also sun tolerant (although they take partial shade), they need cooler soil. Parsley and chervil are grown in part shade in cool soil; so is mint, but it is more plump and tolerates all types of exposure.

When to plant herbs in a window box?

When to plant herbs? If they can be easily grown indoors all year round, it is generally preferable to plant herbs outdoors in April, at the beginning of spring, this is particularly true for basil, tarragon or dill.

Also see:   Capital banque en ligne: Optimizing capital management with digital offerings

Which spices to grow in France?

Discover with us 6 original spices to grow at home.

  • Vanilla.
  • Small peppers.
  • Cardamom.
  • The coffee tree.
  • Ginger.
  • Turmeric.

What are the spices?

Spices and their therapeutic properties

  • Channeling. In the form of coiled sticks or in powder form, it adds a warm, sweet, aromatic and spicy taste at the same time. ...
  • Cardamom. ...
  • Clove. ...
  • Turmeric. ...
  • Cumin. ...
  • A nutmeg. ...
  • Chile. ...
  • Saffron.

When to plant spices?

In a Mediterranean climate with hot and dry summers, it is recommended to plant your aromatic plants in autumn from September onwards, as they need time to root before summer.

Aromatic plants are ideal for adding a touch of flavor to your dishes, but it's important to plant them properly for healthy, abundant growth. Avoid common mistakes such as over-watering or choosing the wrong location. Instead, opt for well-drained soil, adequate exposure to sun or shade depending on the species, and follow our tips for a beautiful harvest all year round.

(Visited 30 times, 1 visits today)

Comments

Leave a comment

Your comment will be revised by the site if needed.

Jardin

Où planter les épices ?

Par , le septembre 7, 2021 - 5 minutes de lecture
Où planter les épices ?

Quelle exposition pour les plantes aromatiques ?

A titre indicatif, les besoins des plantes aromatiques sont les suivants : Exposition très ensoleillée, chaleur, sol très bien drainé, voire sec : origan, sarriette, romarin, sauge officielle, thym. Exposition ensoleillée sans excès, sol riche et frais : aneth, basilic, ciboulette, coriandre, estragon, mélisse.

Quelles plantes aromatiques ne pas planter ensemble ?

Le basilic et le persil comme le thym, le laurier ou le romarin ne sont pas cultivés. Ne mettez donc pas toutes vos plantes aromatiques dans la même jardinière, car elles nécessitent toutes (ou presque) un entretien et un sol spécifiques.

Où planter le basilic ombre ou soleil ?

Le basilic préfère l’exposition au soleil, à l’abri du vent et du froid. Il aime les sols légers, relativement secs, bien drainés et assez riches. Plantez le basilic peut-être au printemps (avril-mai dans le Sud), après les dernières gelées.

Comment cultiver des épices ?

Pour un sol complet, démarrez vos rhizomes en février mars, et plantez-les au jardin à la mi-mai. Si elle est arrosée régulièrement, la plante fournira une bonne quantité de rhizomes à l’automne. Il suffit d’en garder, que vous gardiez bien au sec pour reprendre le cycle l’année suivante.

Comment utiliser les épices et les herbes aromatiques ?

Comment utiliser les herbes et les épices en cuisine

  • Soupes : Crème d’asperges : muscade, poivre blanc. Crème de champignons : poivre, thym, cerfeuil, laurier. …
  • Salades : Salade de pommes de terre : cerfeuil, estragon, basilic, ail. …
  • Légumes : Aubergines : basilic, origan, sauge, romarin, ail.

Comment faire pousser des fines herbes à l’intérieur ?

L’air chaud et sec de nos maisons en hiver est relativement inadapté à la plupart des herbes aromatiques. Assurez-vous donc de cultiver vos herbes dans une pièce fraîche – une température de 18 °C est idéale – et avec un taux d’humidité supérieur à 40 %, idéalement plus proche de 50 %.

Où planter les herbes aromatiques ?

Pour nourrir vos herbes aromatiques en bon état, choisissez :

  • Exposition ensoleillée et sol sablonneux bien drainé pour l’origan, le romarin, la sauge ou le thym.
  • Exposition légèrement ensoleillée et sol frais et riche pour l’aneth, le basilic, l’estragon ou la ciboulette.

Où planter basilic et ciboulette ?

Bien que le basilic, la ciboulette et l’estragon tolèrent également le soleil (cependant, ils prennent une ombre partielle), mais ils ont besoin d’un sol plus froid. Le persil et le cerfeuil sont cultivés à mi-ombre dans un sol frais ; menthe aussi, mais elle est plus pansante et supporte tous types d’exposition.

Quand planter des herbes aromatiques en jardinière ?

Quand planter ses parfums ? Si elles peuvent être facilement cultivées en intérieur tout au long de l’année, il est généralement préférable d’installer les fines herbes en extérieur en avril, au début du printemps, c’est particulièrement vrai pour le basilic, l’estragon ou l’aneth.

Quelles épices cultiver en France ?

Découvrez avec nous 6 épices originales à cultiver chez vous.

  • Vanille.
  • Petits poivrons.
  • Cardamome.
  • Le caféier.
  • Gingembre.
  • Curcuma.

Quels sont les épices ?

Les épices et leurs propriétés thérapeutiques

  • Canaliser. Sous forme de bâtonnets enroulés seuls ou en poudre, il ajoute un goût chaud, sucré, aromatique et épicé à la fois. …
  • Cardamome. …
  • Clou de girofle. …
  • Curcuma. …
  • Cumin. …
  • Une noix de muscade. …
  • Chili. …
  • Safran.

Quand planter des épices ?

Dans un climat méditerranéen aux étés chauds et secs, il est recommandé de planter vos plantes aromatiques à l’automne à partir de septembre, car elles ont besoin de temps pour s’enraciner avant l’été.

(Visited 8 times, 1 visits today)

Commentaires

Laisser un commentaire

Votre commentaire sera révisé par les administrateurs si besoin.